CLERK-TREASURERS: 1936 - present

In 1935, the Indiana Legislature abolished the separate offices of clerk and treasurer, combining them into the successor office, Clerk-Treasurer. Terms are four years, beginning noon January 1 and concluding before noon January 1, four years following.

1936 - 1943

Bartel Zandstra - 1st Clerk-Treasurer was replaced on July 20, 1943 mid-term owing his US Army service by Rose Langley - 2nd Clerk-Treasurer

1943 - 1952

Rose Langley was married July 20, 1948. Rose Langley-Merrick - was replaced on September 16, 1948 in mid-term by: John Blom - 3rd Clerk-Treasurer

1952 - 1956

Kenneth Dickinson - 4th Clerk-Treasurer

1956 - 1980

Irene Ketchum (D) - 5th Clerk-Treasurer

1980 - 1992

Paul L. Doherty (D) - 6th Clerk-Treasurer

1992 - Feb. 5, 2022

Michael W. Griffin was selected Feb. 5, 2022 by the District 1 Democratic Caucus to fulfill the term of Ind. Sen. Frank Mrvan, who announced his retirement in January 2022. Michael Griffin resigned from his position as Clerk-Treasurer on Feb. 4, 2022 and was sworn in as State Senator Feb. 7, 2022.

March 2, 2022 - present

Longtime Councilman Mark Herak was tapped to become the new Clerk-Treasurer March 2, 2022. He was sworn in as Clerk-Treasurer the following day.