CLERKS & TREASURERS: 1911 - 1935

The Town of Highland was incorporated April 4, 1910. Andrew Reiner presented the petition requesting incorporation in February of that year to the Lake County Commissioners. Incorporation being granted, the first election was held for the first officials, with Highland then conducting regular elections in the usual cycle in 1911. At the time of Highland's incorporation, Indiana law provided for separately elected Town Clerks and Town Treasurers. This was the law until 1935.

1910-1911

Clerk: H.S. Daugherty - 1st clerk Treasurer: John Lynch - 1st treasurer

1912-1915

Clerk: H.S. Daugherty Treasurer: John Lynch

1916-1919

Clerk: H.S. Daughtery

Treasurer: Richard Hook - 2nd treasurer

1920-1923

Clerk: J.G. Eriks - 2nd clerk Treasurer: D. Moes - 3rd treasurer

1924-1927

Clerk: J.G. Eriks

Treasurer: Nick Porter - 4th treasurer

1928-1931

Clerk: John Groot - 3rd Clerk

Treasurer: Otto M. Schmidt - 5th treasurer

1932-1935

Clerk: Bartel Zandstra - 4th and last town clerk)

Treasurer: Harold Douthet - 6th treasurer